Lenten Journey – Week 4, 2017

The rain was present with me last week as I traveled for several hours Southwest of Seattle area to a lovely home on the shore of Hood Canal for a few days rest and retreat from life in my small apartment.  My significant other and I grabbed our cameras and headed out in the drizzle to see if it was true that forests and trees are more beautiful if the sun is in hiding and the air is moist.  God led us away from the water and mountain views for a short time to a place where every color of green existed!  The sight of trees covered in fluffy, bright green moss was again a confirmation of the Creator as artist with a palette full of every imaginable hue of green.  All the days and weeks of rain had left this masterpiece for us to enjoy.

scene near entrance to Therrell home, North Shore Road, Tahuya

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.  He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul.  He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake.  Psalm 23: 1-3   I was reminded of the text for this week, Psalm 23,  as I took in all the beauty that surrounded me.  We were guided along this path to see and photograph the beauty along the way.  I was truly blessed to be here.  Look around you this week, even in the rain, to see for yourself the Artist’s work displayed.

Abundant moss on trees

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

