Lenten Journey – Week One, 2017

I have been thinking a lot about justice this week. How easy it is for me to give it lip service but not much action.

When Jesus was baptized, it was God’s announcement to humanity that a new and positive plan was going to begin and the “justice and righteousness” that the prophet, Amos, declared in the Old Testament would become a never-failing stream throughout time and history.  Soon after this event, Jesus advanced to the next step, the temptations by Satan, confirming his humanity and identity with us and with God. God is love. God loves everyone – period! God is the great equalizer.

As I travel this Lenten Journey with Jesus, my prayer is to be aware daily of injustice of any kind in my community and in the larger world and act for change as I am able, especially to change my judgmental attitudes.

“Jesus has come to transform people, not to exclude them.  He has come for the seeming losers, and not to create a country club for the supposed winners.”  Fr. Richard Rohr

dsc_0001

“Let justice roll down..”   Snoqualmie Falls, Washington

 

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

