Ash Wednesday – Lenten Journey 2017

After abstaining from the discipline of writing during Lent last year, I have again embraced the writing of a weekly post during the season of Lent 2017.  My early mornings are spent reading and meditating.  Unless I write down my thoughts and feelings from those times, I soon forget where I was going spiritually.  I lost many weeks of thoughts last year by not recording them here. This year, I am up to the challenge!

I was out walking with my camera recently and was drawn to certain flowers blooming in the cold Washington air.  For several days I had been watching their pretty white heads pop up in several hidden areas around the campus walkway.  I don’t think it is a coincidence that they helped me recall a scripture verse from the Lectionary text for Ash Wednesday from Psalm 51:7…”Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean, wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.”  These stunning, pure white, tiny blooms are a reminder to me of God’s mercy and grace.  My prayer is that I will remember this special gift to me throughout this season and especially on Easter morning.

dscn0158dscn0161

Winter Snow Drops

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Faith, Mercer Island, photography, retirement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

