Lenten Journey, Week 5 – 2015

artfully woven

 

What is this?  Who created this lovely, iridescent, shiny fabric?

 

detail of pattern

 

On a sunny day in January, I walked to the end of the dock over Lake Washington.  Something sparkly  caught my eye.  When I looked to see what it was, I could hardly believe my eyes!  The railing on our marina dock held this lovely piece of artwork. I had my camera in tow and at that moment felt overwhelmed by the gift I had been given.  A tiny member of God’s creation had used its instinct to do what it does best.

At that moment I felt a kinship, a kind of peace, with the tiny spider as I was using my own creativity to record this treasure to share with my readers.

This is my last post for the Lenten season 2015.  The thought I leave with you this week is again from Psalm 139 , verse 14 this time:  “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”  Peace be with you all.

 

DSC_0035

Mt. Rainier view from Crystal Mountain ski area

 

 

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Art, Faith, Mercer Island, photography, seasons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

