Lenten Journey, Week 4 – 2015

Barbara Brown Taylor, in her book, Learning to Walk in the Dark,  states a premise that I hadn’t thought about very much, but stood out today as I read it:  “I have learned things in the dark that I  could  never have learned in the light, things that have saved my life over and over again, so that there is really only one logical conclusion.  I need darkness as much as I need light.”  In Genesis, chapter 1, verse 3, “God said, ‘Let there be light,’ … and he separated the light from the darkness.”  So, instead of just a light showing us the world from the very beginning, a darkness changed the look of it for us.  There must be a reason God did that.

DSC_0002

Chicago sunrise

 

As a photographer, I find it interesting that the switch from dark to light that is visible to us is one of the most beautiful sights in the sky on some mornings.  And, the reverse is also true when we look up in the evening to see the spectacular change from daylight to darkness at the end of certain days.

Midnight Sun in Norway

Midnight Sun in Norway

DSCN1446

UP of Michigan sunset

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Did the creator want humankind to notice and think about the importance of these two daily events in our lives and learn to appreciate both equally?  I have experienced dark things in my life.  I chose to not let them destroy my faith or keep a hold on me.  The light always came back to me in full force and even in a stronger presence than before the dark encircled me.  I know that it was both the dark plus the light that gave me many valuable lessons to learn and put to use in my daily walk in this world.

Thanks to Dr. Taylor for her enlightenment about living in the darkness.

Seattle waterfront

Seattle waterfront

 

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Faith, Michigan, photography, seattle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

