Lenten Journey, Week 2 – 2015

My busy schedule has slowed enough for me to put down some thoughts during this Second Week in Lent.  Like the Psalmist’s expressions in Psalm 139 that follows, I have not always realized how much God pays attention to my thoughts and feelings, always knowing the content of them.  I don’t try to run to the farthest limits of the sea, but I do run from God’s call to me as if I know best what my needs are. If only I would let God accomplish what God had in mind for me from the beginning, my  life would show the light of God’s love for every human being I encounter.

Forgive me, Lord, and help me to be more confident in the strength of your hand guiding, leading and keeping me. May my lighthouse shine strong because I am following you.  AMEN

O Lord

You have searched me

and known me.

You know when I sit down

and when I rise up;

You discern my thoughts

from far away.

If I take the wings

of the morning

And settle at the

farthest limits of the sea.

Even there your hand

shall lead me,

And your right hand

shall hold me fast.

Psalm 139: 1-2, 9-10

my home on Mercer Island, Washington

Midnight Sun in Norway

Midnight Sun in Norway

DSC_0037

Big Sable Lighthouse, Ludington, Michigan

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Faith, Mercer Island, Michigan, photography, seasons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lenten Journey, Week 2 – 2015

  1. Chuck says:

    Thanks for this Lenten post. As so often happens when I read a scripture verse, I am reminded of a hymn or a choral anthem based on that text. That happened when I read your post today. Thanks for reminding me of the need to listen to the One who knows me.

  2. Kay Olson says:

    Today is a perfect time to read your words. In Chicago it is damp and cold. These words meant so much just at the right time. Peace.

Leave a Reply

