Lenten Journey, Week One – 2015

 

Here is just one flower poking its head out of the ground in late February.  It’s beauty is noticed by people passing by and by my photographer’s eye.

DSC_0015

Sometimes God speaks to me in a small, beautiful part of creation.  A verse in an old hymn comes to mind this Lenten season as I see this flower that is showing me the beauty of our Lord, Jesus Christ — “When the sun of bliss is beaming light and love upon my way, from the cross the radiance streaming adds more luster to the day.”  (In the Cross of Christ I Glory)

When I remember my baptism during this season, I feel God’s welcoming and quenching love and remember the water that symbolizes my new birth in Christ.  May this season remind me that I am loved by a God who shows me an exquisite treasure nearby just waiting for me as a gift to enjoy.  I am his and he is mine.

Thanks be to God!

 

 

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Faith, Mercer Island, photography, seasons, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

