Ending of Lent, Week Five

“What shall I look at first.”  I wondered? The bright sunshine and milder weather drew me out of my little hideaway with my camera around my neck this afternoon.  The colors of flowers, bushes and trees amazed me today.  First, I looked at bushes of flowering varieties.  Here is a mauve-colored azalea and then a brilliant coral-red one.

 

DSC_0001 DSC_0014

 

 

Many trees have blossomed with pink and white flowers during the last week and I found one of them near the north end of our community. 

 

DSC_0008

Then, walking further, I really wanted to see beauty in a more minute form and record an example with my camera.  My prize came when I noticed a “bleeding heart” bush nearby and stopped to look at its blossoms.  A perfectly shaped heart came into my line of sight and then an entire row of them on a branch.  Recording this moment, on this day, in this week of April 2014 is something special and my personal blessing to hold in my own “heart” for the rest of the day. It was a day that will never happen again and I am thankful that I allowed my longing for natural beauty to lead me today.  I left the “housework” until another time. 

 

DSC_0019

DSC_0017

My photo walk today reminded me how I have so many things of beauty to observe in a day in the world I have come to know here in the Northwest. I am so grateful for the beauty I see in this community and know that there are people who spend many hours pulling weeds and pruning branches as I saw many of them doing today.  I am thankful for these garden lovers. 

 

 

DSC_0005

Spring is my last season to experience in my first year of living in Washington.  Summer was my first season living here.  In a few months, I will begin my second year of residence in this “evergreen” state.  I anticipate more days bringing me inspiration.  Bring it on!

 

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Mercer Island, photography, retirement, seasons, seattle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

