Lenten Journey 2014, Week Four

“Place matters,” says Kathleen Norris  in the group study “Embracing a Life of Meaning.”

The word place can mean many different things, such as:  home, rightful place, place in the scheme of things, place of beauty, and so on. And, I add the opposite of place, displaced.

DSC_0005

DSC_0002

I can identify with people who feel displaced – it happened to me almost 20 years ago.  In a matter of minutes, a fire on the floor above my apartment forced me out into a cold December evening onto the sidewalk and not seeing most of my belongings for close to a year.  How would I find “home” in a hotel room with Christmas approaching?  I needed to find my “place” and establish some stability in my life. It took me a long time to find “place” after that experience, but with the help of faith, friends and family, I did.

Home and place sometimes mean the same thing to me and maybe to you.  Since that crisis, I worked at making my place and home within myself.  Something stable that would not be separated from me should that physical displacement happen again. My relationship to God and his Holy Spirit grew to be something that was an important part of my daily life, moving ahead in faith but not losing my “home.”  I was finding an inner strength that was stabilizing me and my quest for “home.” 

DSC_0110

DSC_0108

Moving to Mercer Island created another situation where I lost a physical place, but it felt different this time – my spirit was at peace with my inner “place.”  My place is right where it has always been and my “home” is traveling with me on my journey circling back to faith and God.

May you all find your “place.”

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Faith, Mercer Island, retirement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

