Lenten Journey 2014, Week two

Why does the Bible matter to you?  A question that might elicit a quick answer from you or one you might need to think about for a few minutes.

Kathleen Norris, in our weekly Lenten study, gave us this thought – “ The Bible is a mirror where we find our own lives truthfully reflected.  Sometimes we may not like what we see, but we can still experience the essential wisdom it offers for our living.” 

Image

Florida sunrise

If I put the Bible away every time I read something that I didn’t like, I would never read it.  But, I have continued to read it and learn from all the wisdom in Proverbs, the comfort of the Psalms, even the confusing and contradicting texts.  I manage to skim off the unnecessary layers to get to the small kernels of truth and meaning for my life – my personal truth. The Bible, imperfect as it may be, points us to God who is trustworthy.  He is love, light and spirit. That is enough for me for a lifetime!

I feel a new freedom to connect to God in many other ways than just reading the Bible.  I think, since God made everyone unique, we each create our own stories of connecting with God.  I am thankful that I see God in nature every time I walk outside.  I notice the small things – I have purposely slowed my pace.  When I see the images my camera collects, I am constantly in awe of the beauty around me.

DSC_0035

Oregon Coast

DSC_0034

small rock garden

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Faith, photography, retirement, seasons, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lenten Journey 2014, Week two

  1. Kay Olson says:

    Yes! Lots to take in here. Some great ” kernels” of truth. Also, your photos point us to God. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

