Lenten Journey 2014, week one

DSCN0619

The mention of author/poet, Kathleen Norris, always gets my attention because I can identify with her struggles of faith and belief in God. So, attending the Lenten study time on Wednesday nights at my church during Lent was a no-brainer.  The study is five sessions long.  In the first sessions we watched a short video with Kathleen sharing some thoughts with a small group around her.  Her topic was “Why Belief Matters.”  Our study book lists her main thoughts for us to discuss with one other person in the group and then later with all the people gathered for the study.  Here is the quote that I was drawn to – The verb “to believe” in its origins means “to give your heart to.”  Belief comes from your whole self and not just your intellect.” 

I admit that in the first half of my life I was trying to ignore what my heart was feeling and thought I should believe in God the way the Bible told me I should.  Now, after walking the path of faith and belief for a long time, perspective is changing toward finding my own connection with God and faith in my own way. I work hard to get away from what my intellect alone tells me and ask God to open my heart as I use my eyes to look around me each day for all the things I have overlooked in the past.  I want to be more open to people who find God in other ways than I do and listen to the stories they have to tell. I want to stop and look around me as I walk outside to see what gifts I can find there. The freedom that will come from going in this direction is just over the hill for me and I am walking toward it day by day with great hope for love to really fill my heart.

DSC_0012

A prayer from Martin Marty – Lord, let us be faithful in ordinary tasks and ready for extraordinary calls. Amen

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Faith, Mercer Island, photography, seasons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

