Cloudy Day Bright

Finally!  I had time to drive a mile or so to the tip of Mercer Island and visit Luther Burbank Park yesterday.  I was too busy getting settled in my new home to do much outside of Covenant Shores all summer.  During past visits to the Island I found this lovely gem of a park.   I almost didn’t pack my camera for this little jaunt to the park.  But…I ended up taking it along “just in case” I saw something beautiful on a cloudy day on Mercer Island.  My few companion visitors were folks with dogs who were headed to the off-leash area of the park so their pets could flex their legs, running around the enclosed space designated for them.

One of the first things that caught my eye as I found the walking path was a beautiful pink color.  Out came the camera and after recording this stunning plant, my curiosity took charge.   How many different colors could I spot on such a gray day?

Image

Here are more lovely colors that I noticed even more, it seems, on a cloudy day.

a taste of fall

A little color in the  green landscape

DSC_0014

The spectacular summer weather I experienced has left us some very intense fall colors.

Winding up my walk in the park, I had to smile at the geese who are frustratingly ever-present no matter where I am on the shores of Lake Washington!  And then the almost neon green of the grass in the natural outdoor theater in the park.

they are everywhere

DSC_0012

Lesson learned:  Go for a walk in any weather with eyes and heart open to receive a gift.

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Mercer Island, photography, retirement, seasons, seattle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cloudy Day Bright

  1. Ann-Marie says:

    So nice to see you writing and photographing again. Beautiful pictures! I do love fall, even though it is the precursor to my least favorite season. That said, every season has its beauty, and every day we are able to experience them is a gift. Thanks for sharing your days with us!

Leave a Reply

