Lenten Journey – Holy Week

What have I learned these past five weeks about my faith, God, friends, and this “journey” of self-discipline?

Each of the weeks in Lent,  I realized more than ever before, how much God loves me, an imperfect human being. He shows me daily by my experience of little “miracles.”  His help and comfort is just a thought or prayer away. Going into Holy Week and Easter celebrations, I have gained some new thoughts about what this special time means to me.  I feel ready to participate in the Good Friday sorrow and then the Easter exuberance with the risen Christ.

DSC_0007

About my friends, I can say that through my journey, you have been loving, encouraging and honest with me.  Friendship is a most wonderful gift.  I will treasure this time and be as good a friend in return as you have been to me.  Very rewarding work — friendship!

When the thoughts and words wouldn’t come, I just waited until God gave some inspiration for a theme or subject.  I learned that if I have patience and an open mind and heart, the thoughts and words that come after waiting, will be the best ones.

DSCN0010

A sincere thank you to my readers. You have been part of my Lenten Journey.  I hope your own Lenten Journey has been meaningful and special to you.

I want to share a prayer with you for Holy Week, written by Girolamo Savanarola, Italy, 15th century

LORD

WE PRAY NOT FOR TRANQUILITY

NOR THAT OUR

TRIBULATIONS MAY CEASE

WE PRAY

FOR THY SPIRIT

AND THY LOVE

THAT THOU GRANT US

STRENGTH AND GRACE

TO OVERCOME ADVERSITY

THROUGH JESUS CHRIST

AMEN

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in photography, seasons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lenten Journey – Holy Week

  1. Janice Olson says:

    I echo your thoughts about waiting for the best words , Nancy. So often I am tempted to “fill the silence” with impatient chatter, when I would be better off waiting for the Spirit to guide me.

  2. Kay Olson says:

    You have come a long way on the journey. “Where He leads me, I will follow”

  3. songbirdnmf says:

    Thanks for your encouragement, girls!

Leave a Reply

