Lenten Journey, Week 5 – God as Artist

Being a crafter from an early age, I enjoy making things from various media and giving life to something with the help of a pattern.  I wonder how God views the results of  this hobby, and does it serve the purpose intended for my life?  A couple of verses from the Psalms have been rising to the surface during my daily meditation time lately.  “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” Psalm 139:13-14.

God’s artistry

These words by the Psalmist help me to realize that God is the example, using his “craft” to give life to human beings, his children. He then gifted each of his children with something that they can do to honor God and do his creative work in our world.  His artistry is so evident in our universe, my prayer this week is that I will be inspired to use my “artistry” to help someone in need.

knitting supplies

In the last several years, I find myself giving away almost 90% of what I make.  Before that time, it didn’t really occur to me to give away things that I made to people in need.  A few years ago, along with some knitter friends, we got busy with our needles to make “preemie hats” that were then donated to a hospital.  I am only sorry that I spent so many years at a craft and didn’t contribute to anyone really in need.  I recently found that World Vision has a program called “Knit for Kids.” Check it out here – http://www.worldvision.org/content.nsf/getinvolved/knit-for-kids.  I intend to start a sweater soon and I am encouraging any of my “crafty” friends to pick up knitting needles or crochet hooks, make some sweaters and send them on to World Vision.  The patterns are easy, I promise! Get out there, be an artist and use your gift!

A sweater for a boy named Ben

Today, my pastor used the verses from Psalm 139, that I quoted at the beginning of this post, in her benediction.  Coincidence?

When I finish the Knit-for-Kids sweater, I will post a photo here!

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Faith, knitting, photography, retirement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lenten Journey, Week 5 – God as Artist

  1. Kay Olson says:

    That is beautiful and wonderful. It is very thoughtful.

  2. songbirdnmf says:

    The sweater was finished and sent without a picture being taken. Finished in summer 2013.

  3. Janet says:

    My sister is an avid knitter and has been doing Knit for Kids sweaters for the past couple years. Don’t recall the exact number but know she’s passed 200. She’s found much joy in being able to benefit others with something she enjoys so much.

Leave a Reply

