Lenten Journey, Week 4 – Signs in Nature

Look! Out there, I see the cardinal return to the tree outside my window this week.  He sings me a song in the mornings.  I’ve always loved cardinals with their brilliant color suddenly appearing in the leafless trees, reminding me that Spring is not too far away.  I have never been close enough to catch him in my camera lens.  Maybe I will try a little harder to find him this week.

When I direct my thoughts back to this week of Lent, I realize it is the half-way mark before reaching the Easter celebration. Seeing the dead leaves of winter remind me that I need to get out the rake and prepare my heart and soul for this event.

DSC_0005

Action is needed.  I need to gather tools to tend my garden in a few weeks. The cross of Christ is what I need to find first.  J. Heinrich Arnold says: “Every believer knows that Christ went the way of the cross for our sakes.  But it is not enough just to know this.  Each of us must find the cross…If we call ourselves his followers, we must be willing to take the same path.”  Not an easy concept to think about unless I spend time, however long it takes, to place myself at this cross and take it in, honestly.  It may take me all the way to Good Friday to find that place.

But, when Lent is over, I can celebrate with all Christ’s followers and disciples on Easter morning.  The garden I planted will bloom like the flowers that show up each Spring. God’s gift of joy and freedom for our lives.

I love spring colors!

Pansies and tulips

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Art, Faith, seasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

