Lenten Journey, Week 3 – Rock

A rock, or something that is “like a rock” came to my mind this week because I am always needing a solid foundation under my spiritual feet.  Sometimes weakness has overtaken me physically and spiritually and I really need strength from somewhere! Maybe you have had the same experience.

In Matthew 7, Jesus told the people he was talking to that if they listened and acted on his words, they were like a person choosing to build a house on a ROCK that would withstand all the rains, floods and wind — like this house I saw during my travels.

Image

Beach house in Maui

In Psalm 40, David expresses his thankfulness for God’s deliverance from a harrowing situation  — “He drew me up from the desolate pit, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a ROCK, making my steps secure.” Only the strength of God’s power could help David.  I am counting on the same help.

Image

Boulders and vines

“For they (Israel) drank from the spiritual rock that followed them, and the ROCK was Christ.”  I Cor. 10:4  

The North Cape, Norway

The North Cape, Norway

I choose to turn to the LORD for strength in this third week of Lent.  He truly has become my ROCK.

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Faith, photography, retirement, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

