Lenten Journey, Week 2 – Light

Light is a theme that I think about often.  My spiritual being needs light, my physical being needs light, my camera needs light, and so on.  I am not a happy person if I just take in a lot of light from many sources and never give some back to the world.  I feel unbalanced.  At a young age I learned the Sunday School song, “This Little Light of Mine.”  The song says “I’m gonna let it shine.” But, how do I let my light shine? How do I become a better “light to the world?” (Matthew 5:14)  Jesus said that is what I am.  In this season of self-evaluation and introspection, I will try to stop and remember as I leave my silent home, before I encounter the people in my world, that proclamation made by Jesus: “You are the light of the world.”

DSC_0037

This lighthouse is a reminder of those words of Jesus.  

DSC_0052

Who else is there, but all of his disciples on earth, to spread the light of love in our hurting world? 

DSC_0156

Will you join me in lighting up your “world” with love, grace and peace this week?

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Faith, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lenten Journey, Week 2 – Light

  1. Kay Olson says:

    So glad to read this.

  2. Janice Olson says:

    I know it is hard to evaluate your “light” in the world, Nancy. I feel the same way. But know also that others see your light, even when you can’t.

Leave a Reply

