Beginning of Lent

I want a meaningful and lasting experience of self-discipline this year during Lent.  I didn’t want to “give up” something as in the past.  I wanted to “add” something.  Writing is difficult for me, but I attempt it from time to time.  A recent experience of tying my photos to inspirational or Biblical writing gave me the idea for these 40 days.  Meditating on photos for spiritual meaning and then sharing what I learn is definitely a discipline for this season. Look for new meditations each week during Lent.

 Today my search led to Psalm 63: 2-3

“So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory.

Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you.” NRSV

Midnight Sun in Norway

Midnight Sun in Norway

Here is the same text from Peterson’s “The Message:”

 So here I am in the place of worship, eyes open,

Arctic Cathedral, Tromso, Norway

Arctic Cathedral, Tromso, Norway

drinking in your strength and glory.

 In your generous love I am really living at last! 

Chicago Botanic Garden

Chicago Botanic Garden

My lips brim praises like fountains.

And so ends my first meditation.

About songbirdnmf

Born in Detroit, Michigan, I then lived in Chicago for about 40 years. I have been living at a retirement community on Mercer Island, Washington for three and a half years. My family consists of two daughters, 2 sons-in-law and four grandsons. One daughter is an artist and lives in Los Angeles. The other daughter lives in Seattle, Washington and is a breeder of Australian Multigen. Labradoodles. I love to knit, travel, and take walks with my camera.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

